Building a World, Part 2 – Deities

This is the second part of my world building series for my Tale of Enki universe. For this post I want to focus on the deities prominent on Enki and the planes beyond. Just as a preface I want to address that I’m a Catholic and I take the Tolkien approach with this topic in that these deities aren’t meant to represent or undermine God. They’re rather a sub creation of my own mind. Nothing more, nothing less.

I initially started with three deities. Jorren, Maiyel and Krawth. Jorren was meant to represent righteousness and order, but he’s known to be very harsh and strict. Maiyel is the god of chaos and that more or less explains itself. Krawth was originally planned as the evil deity of murder and brutality who turned the ogres into demons. The deities have since developed into having somewhat different spheres of influence that I’ll mention below. Shortly after creating these three I expanded to include the deity Sindor, god of nature and the creator of the vulpah, sheepah and ogres. Within a few days it became a list of twelve gods.

I tied the deities to the races a bit even though there’s some crossover. Enkians worship Jorren with some worshipping Yulgus (god of knowledge). Rocklopes don’t follow ay deities in particular. Vulpah and sheepah worship Sindor, their creator. Ogres used to worship Sindor when they were known as the boarah, but now worship Krawth who corrupted them and gave them their lust for fighting. Lokor worship Permia (goddess of darkness), who banished them to Enki in the firt place, in order to try and regain her favour. Lokor also occasionally worship Yulgus as they value knowledge.

There are also a lot of lesser sects and cultists which worship other deities. People who worship Zalgan, the deity associated with corruption and pain, are usually psychopathic nutjobs and would this be shunned by society. I wanted to make sure deities could be tied into cultural values, for better or worse.

The list of deities are as follows:

  • Acoustis, god of willpower and change.
  • Caprius, god of mystery.
  • Ferule, goddess of day and night.
  • Jorren, god of conquest and loyalty.
  • Krawth, god of violence and brutality.
  • Layran, god of hope.
  • Maiyel, god of madness.
  • Nightmare, god of revenge and torment.
  • Permia, goddess of darkness.
  • Sindor, god of nature and beasts.
  • Yulgus, god of knowledge and exploration.
  • Zalga, god of corruption and disease.

I wanted to include a wide range of positive, neutral and negative spheres for the gods to represent. That way, whether it’s a meek scholar or a violence serial murderer, almost every character trait can fit with at least one deity. It also allows for some religious conflict (and even outright warfare) to occur in the lore and that’s always interesting to explore.

Either deity has their own place where they reside, but they are able to extend their reach to various other planes. This doesn’t just include Enki, but as the lore follows events almost exclusively on Enki it’s the only one that really matters.

That concludes the second part of this world building series. Next up I’ll discuss each of the nations on the main continent, Eperos, in Enki. Part 3 coming shortly!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s